I’m still not totally convinced…

about how we should do our new kitchen counter tops, but Jeff’s worked up a few samples of polished concrete and I have to say that I’m liking them more than I thought I would. Who knows, he may be right for a change. 😉

Concrete Countertops 8

After kicking off the kitchen renovation a few weeks ago with our newly painted cabinets, we decided to take the next step and tackle the old laminate counter tops currently in place.

Kitchen After 2

To be honest, I came into this part of the renovation with the idea that I just wanted to spend the extra money and pay for someone to install granite, with the hopes that we could be done quickly and moved onto the next project (the list is long my friends). However, Jeff’s had other ideas in mind. He’s been really eager to try polished concrete, and since I was very hesitant (kind of still am), he decided to work up a couple samples to see if we can find one we both agree on.

Concrete Countertops 2 Concrete Countertops 1

So far, we’ve stuck with Direct Colors concrete dyes, and we’re liking all the options they offer. While we originally ordered two colors to test out, we’ve since tested two more to see if we can find the perfect color for our kitchen. All of them are in the brown(ish) category.

On top of the pigment, we’re adding pieces of broken glass in hopes that it adds another level of customization and variety. Drinking beer and wine to ensure we have enough glass? I guess I can handle that.

Concrete Countertops 3 Concrete Countertops 4 Concrete Countertops 5^^Someone else was curious to see what Jeff was up to. Luckily, he’s the cutest spectator around.^^

Concrete Countertops 6 Concrete Countertops 7

I hope not to keep you in suspense too long (I know it’s rough), but I’m learning this is not a quick process and we need a few more days before I can show you the samples.

Stay tuned!

4 thoughts on “I’m still not totally convinced…

  1. Very cool! I’m excited to see how they turn out, particularly the broken glass one. This blog makes me sad I’m going to be in rentals for the foreseeable future. 🙂

  2. Pingback: This is where you come in… | Less Than Average Height

  3. Pingback: And the results are in… | Less Than Average Height

Leave a Reply

